Licensing Categories

The DCF Licensing Unit is responsible for the licensing of four categories of services delivered to children and their families throughout the state of Connecticut.  Each of the four licensing categories has its own requirements, so it is important for license applicants to know them. For information on licensing for each of these categories follow the links below:
The DCF Regulatory Consultants, supervisor, nurses, and administrative and support staff are dedicated to assuring that all licensed facilities, agencies and programs operate at or above the required standards established by state statutes and regulations. This is accomplished by providing technical assistance, application processing, facility monitoring, complaint investigation and enforcement activities. The DCF Licensing Unit licenses more than 200 facilities, agencies, and programs. We are committed to promoting the health, safety, and welfare of Connecticut's children in licensed facilities and programs.

In addition, there are some requirements and procedures that are common across the different license categories, and those can be accessed through the links below.

Note: DCF Foster and Adoptive Homes are licensed by DCF Area Office staff who work in the Foster and Adoption Services Unit (FASU). For more information call 1-888-KID-HERO, or visit the Office of Children and Youth In Placement (Foster Care and Adoption) website.

Child day care homes and day care centers are licensed by the Office of Early Childhood (OEC). For information on becoming a licensed day care provider visit the OEC website.


Jim McPherson, Program Manager
Licensing Unit
Phone 860-550-6532
Email: Jim